Reviews

Val Aldous
Posted: October 8th, 2015


We highly recommend Scanlan Contracting. Our project included a multilevel composite deck, stone patio, pergola and landscaping (see photos). We appreciated their professionalism, detailed quote and work schedule. Bob expertly coordinated the crew, kept us informed of all activities and handled everything with great attention and care. Bob and his son Jason were punctual, tidy, professional, honest, diligent and courteous. The exceptional quality of their work was beyond compare.

We love our new deck and still rave to this day about the fantastic workmanship and all-around great experience we had. We're already thinking of future projects and wouldn't hesitate to work with them again. Highly recommended!!!

Rating By Criteria:
Timeliness=5
Cleanliness=5
Budget=5
Quality=5
Communication=5
Courteous=5

Overall Rating=5/5



Tammi Hensch
Posted: August 12, 2015


We are so very pleased with the work Scanlan Contracting did. They came in on budget, worked completely within the timeline they indicated, were clean and courteous and kept us updated on the project, along with any changes they were thinking of making along the way. The workmanship is just fantastic and we love this deck! I would recommend Bob to anyone, we had such a great experience with them.

Rating By Criteria:
Timeliness=5
Cleanliness=5
Budget=5
Quality=5
Communication=5
Courteous=5

Overall Rating=5/5



David
Posted: August 15, 2014


We are thankful that we found an honest and diligent company like Scanlan Contracting. We contacted Bob Scanlan to get a quote for our backyard project, consisting of deck, patio and lighting. Bob was able to provide a quote for all of our requirements, including staining of the deck. At our invitation, Bob also made suggestions to enhance the project; the most important being the use of an exotic hardwood, called Ipe. The quote was detailed, included the work that would be done by sub-contractors (patterned concrete, lighting and staining) and was honoured throughout.

Bob explained at the outset that the whole project would be subject to weather constraints and he was right. But Bob kept in contact with us and kept us up to date on when work would be done or couldn't be done because of the weather. He also took responsibility for the work of the other contractors, readily addressing our questions and concerns. The work performed by everyone was terrific, but the fine detail put into the deck by Jason was extraordinary. We now have a backyard that we are proud to entertain in or to just have a coffee in each morning.

I would recommend Scanlan Contracting for any backyard project. Bob's pride in his work is readily evident. He came in on budget, was responsive to all of our concerns, showed exceptional workmanship and took care of all of the details, making the project easy for us. Simply put, I trust the man and there really is no higher praise.

Rating By Criteria:
Timeliness=4
Cleanliness=5
Budget=5
Quality=5
Communication=5
Courteous=5

Overall Rating=4.8/5



Les, Joyce and Jennifer Blunt
Posted: May 30, 2012


Bob Scanlan is the renovation contractor you HOPE to find when embarking on a renovation project: hes professional, fair, offers competitive pricing, and is readily available to answer any of your questions or concerns throughout the course of the job. Bob and his team took our ideas for the design of our basement and gave us exactly what we wanted, only better.

Right from the start, Bob was upfront about costs, offered suggestions to stay on budget, and we never felt pressured to make decisions. Any problems that did arise were dealt with quickly and efficiently. All the sub-contractors were prompt, considerate of our space, and never intrusive.

Bob, his son Jason, Frank, and Bill take pride in their work and pay attention to the smallest details. Throughout the project we felt that the common goal was to create a beautiful and functional basement of which we, Bob, and his team, could be proud. We would not hesitate to use their services again for our next project.



Ann and David (Burlington)
Posted: May 16, 2011


We hired Scanlan Contracting for our basement renovation for the following reasons: 1) professional looking website, 2) good customer reviews, 3) competitive pricing, 4) insurance coverage and 5) professionalism displayed by Bob Scanlan. Based on our recent basement renovation project, we would not hesitate to recommend Scanlan Contracting for any renovation work. The quoting process was done in a professional manner and, with his I-Phone permanently fixed to his hip, Bob was always reachable either by phone, text or email. Responses to queries were always promptly handled. Bob organized & coordinated all sub-trades (electrical, painter, plumber, etc.) so we did not have to worry about that side of things. There was great care taken by Bob & his team to respect our home by using drop sheets on the floors to avoid unecessary mess/damage, and the work site was cleaned up at the end of every day. When necessary, work was completed on weekends to keep to the targetted time frame. And finally, when obstacles presented themselves, Bob dealt with them calmly and professionally, and did everything he could to make things right.



Guy and Cindy Smith(Hamilton)
Posted: Feb 16, 2011


Bathroom Renovation WE had a complete bathroom reno done....Bob has a first class company...attention to detail,extremely good work.We're very happy with the results and would highly recommend him to family,friends,etc.He will be the one we call when we do our kitchen.



Kari  ( Waterdown )
Posted: Feb 23 2009
Scanlan Carpentry should be your choice when attention to detail is a must. Bob and his son Jason are extremely hard workers in all kinds of weather. Wether it be a small or large project, the finished work is amazing. They take pride in their workmanship and the extra little touches stand out. You can see they love to work with wood, real wood, and it shows. We have had the privilege of these wonderful men working on three large projects on our property. The sub contractors and extra crew that are brought in on larger projects, know their trade. As a whole, they make your vision a reality. Even when problems arise, (and they always do on a job site) they are handled in an organized fashion and dealt with quickly. We have, and will continue, to refer Scanlan Carpentry to anyone that would like a Job Done Right! Kari Bennett & Ron Hiegelsberger Waterdown, Ontario



Alan  ( Hamilton )
Posted: Feb 18 2009
I used Scanlan Carpentry to renovate my kitchen which was a total demolition and rebuild as far as walls, floor including painting and tiling, electrical and plumbing work. All work was done promptly and they worked to my schedule which was made more difficult since my cabinet maker was held up at least a month. I asked them to expand their scope of work to include painting of a foyer and stairway and this was completed in a timely fashion.